What’s This?

My husband frequently (although not as frequently as he used to, because I’ve complained about it) asks me when he sits down to eat, “What’s this?” I know he doesn’t mean it in a bad way, but I never know how to respond. I think he’s expecting me to say something like “Neapolitan Morning” or “Tuscan Benedict,” but that’s not how I cook.

This is how I cook: I take a whole food (a vegetable, fruit, meat, or fish) or some combination of whole foods, and I saute/fry/bake/roast it with a combination of seasonings and/or acid and/or fat. Therefore, when I’m asked, “What’s this?” the only response I can give is: “It’s chicken, sautéed and then roasted with a gravy of cream, all-purpose seasoning, and cayenne pepper.” It just feels weird to say that, though, so maybe I’ll start coming up with Sette Luna-style names for my cooking. Behold Chicken à la Creme!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut up 1.5 pounds of chicken into bite-sized chunks and sauté them in olive oil. Don’t cook them all the way; just brown them. Remove chicken pieces with a slotted spoon and put them in a greased 9×9 Pyrex dish. (I LOVE my Pyrex dishes! No aluminum food reactivity, and they’re dishwasher-safe in the top rack.)

In the same skillet in which you cooked the chicken, heat 8 oz of heavy cream. Whisk in 2 tablespoons of corn starch. Continue to heat the mixture as you whisk in 2 tablespoons of all-purpose seasoning, 1 teaspoon of cayenne, and 1/4 teaspoon of kelp. (If you’re concerned about exceeding your recommended iodine intake, you can substitute 1/4 teaspoon of Himalasalt for the kelp.) Cook until this gravy is thickened, then turn off the stove and pour the gravy over the chicken in the Pyrex dish.

Bake at 350 degrees, uncovered, for 30 minutes, then cover with foil and bake for 60 additional minutes. Serve with steamed broccoli. If you’re the kind of person who needs to add a carb, feel free to serve the chicken and gravy over egg noodles or rice.

One response

  1. Pingback: Cheating | In the Kitchen with TO

Comments are closed.