Pancake Dinner!

My daughter loves Fridays in Lent, because they usually involve at least one pancake meal. Any entree that she can top with syrup or honey makes her happy. She’s too young to be required to abstain from meat, but it’s easier for me to make the same meal for all three of us, unless I have a leftover cutlet I can reheat for her (and then it’s hard-boiled eggs and salad for the adults in the house).

Here is the simple pancake recipe I use–simple in part because it involves a gluten-free flour mix:

Combine 1 cup Arrowhead Mills Gluten-Free All-Purpose Baking Mix, 1 egg, 1 generous tablespoon of honey, and 1/3 – 1/4 cup of whole milk yogurt in a large bowl. Mix by hand with a spoon until completely blended.

Melt 1 tablespoon of butter in a cast-iron crepe pan (like this awesome one my in-laws gave me) over very low heat. Scoop 1/4 of the batter onto the pan and spread it out a bit with a wooden spoon. Cook over very low heat until bubbles rise to the surface, then flip with the wooden spoon. Yes, this takes a bit of finesse, but you can do it. If I can do it, you can definitely do it 🙂 Cook another 30-45 seconds on the second side, then slide the finished pancake onto a plate and top it however you like. (In my house, it’s either local honey or Coombs Organic Maple Syrup, with the occasional jelly topping for variety.) Repeat until you’ve made four wonderful, wonderful pancakes.

Where do I procure my awesome ingredients? When I post my recipes, I usually link to Amazon, since so many people shop there, and I do buy some grocery items there. However, I obtain the bulk of my food from three sources: Pure Sprouts, an organic local delivery service that shops at the farmers’ markets so customers don’t have to; Soap.com Grocery, which is actually an Amazon subsidiary now, but which has delivery times that can’t be beaten; and (basically just for Stonyfield milk and yogurt) Giant, which does carry a few organic dairy items reliably.

