Broken Ovens and Omelettes

We’re on Day Two of the dead oven, and lunch was fried breakfast sausages with leftover mashed potatoes. (The last of the mashed potatoes might be reheated in the toaster oven in a tiny Pyrex dish tomorrow. Mmmm!)

Dinner tonight was omelettes and carrots. A nice way to prepare carrots is to simmer them slowly with butter. I used salted butter, so I didn’t use honey, as I sometimes do. I peeled and sliced a pound of carrots, put them into a pot with 6 tablespoons of salted butter, and poured enough water into the pot to rise about 1/2 inch above the tops of the carrots. Then I covered the pot with a tilted lid, put the heat on medium, and simmered the carrots for about 45 minutes, by which point the water had almost completely evaporated / soaked into the carrots.

I made the omelettes in my wonderful De Buyer cast-iron crepe pan. First, I melted a couple of tablespoons of salted butter in the pan. Then I lightly beat two eggs and some tiny slices of leftover fried ham and fried pork sausage in a bowl. Then I let the omelette pan do its magic: cook the omelette over very low heat until the top is nearly dry, then fold the omelette in half with a wooden spoon and let it cook another 45 seconds. Fantastic!

