Simmered Burgers

Periodically, I think about things like “am I creating too much acrylamide by preparing this item this way?” and I decide to try a different way to cook a familiar meal.

I am not a doctor or a scientist, but I think I recall reading that some methods of food preparation cause greater acrylamide formation than others. For example, boiling potatoes for 15 minutes and then mashing them is a lower-acrylamide cooking method than roasting the potatoes at 350 degrees for 90 minutes.

For that reason … and also because I was looking for a more tender burger … and also because I had some pureed tomatoes to get rid of … I decided to slow-simmer the burgers for dinner tonight instead of frying them. Here’s what I did:

Pour 1/2 bottle of strained tomatoes into a skillet. Add some salt, pepper, and shredded fresh basil leaves, and stir it all together over a very low heat. Form 1 pound of ground beef into patties, put them into the skillet, and cover it. Keep the heat very low. After about half an hour, remove the cover, flip the burgers (carefully — an apron is a must), and re-cover the skillet. After another 30 minutes, they should be ready to eat (but be sure to test them with a meat thermometer if you’re not sure). Delightful! Add a mustard-and-mayo topping if you like, or enjoy them as they are.

